Spotify expands its student discount program to 33 more countries

Spotify launched a discounted premium subscription program for students back in 2014, but since then it has only been available in the US, UK, and Germany. Today, it’s expanding that offering to 33 more countries across Europe, Asia, North and South America, and Oceania.

To take advantage of the discount, students can sign up at here for the $4.99 / month subscription that offers ad-free and offline listening. Spotify uses SheerID to verify a student’s eligibility status, and will continue to offer the discount as long as the customer is an active student. Apple Music, in comparison, caps out its discount at four (non-consecutive) years but it is available to student listeners in Africa, unlike Spotify’s student program.

Here’s the full list of new countries where Spotify’s half-price plan is available:
  • Austria
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Brazil
  • Canada
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Mexico
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Philippines
  • Portugal
  • Singapore
  • Spain
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
The article was published on : theverge
Sathya Creations. Powered by Blogger.